Wednesday, November 14, 2007


As posted last week, here's some information on some of the local races in Monmouth County.

Aberdeen Twp. The Democrats won again, and will continue to hold a monolopy on the council. Republicans came close this year, with a little more work they might have pulled this one off. A slate of Greens was also in the race.

Atlantic Highlands - If awards could be given out for an effective sign campaign, the Atlantic Highlands Republicans would walk away with it. It seems that nearly every home, business or even doctor's office sported a sign! The election went Republican, too, with Frederick Rast elected as mayor over the Democratic incumbent and Louis Fligor reelected to council along with newcomer Jacob Hoffmann. Good work guys.

Hancock Twp. There is no Hancock Township.

Hazlet Twp. In a split vote, Democrats gained a seat on the township committee, bringing the ratio to 4 - 1. Scott Aagre was elected on the Republican ticket, and will be the committee's lone G. O. P. member in '08. Hazlet, once all - Republican, has seen Democratic gains ever since former mayor "Big Paul" Coughlin got banged in the big Operation Bid Rig investigation.

Highlands - As reported last week, Freeholder Anna Little was elected mayor. Her running mate, Councilwoman Nancy Thomas, was reelected.

Holmdel Twp. Another split. Mayor Serena DiMaso was reelected, but her running mate, Jerry Allocco, was defeated by Democrat Janet Berk. DiMaso and Allocco were on opposing slates in the primary, but teamed up for the general election. Sadly, it is reported that some Republicans worked for the democrats, resulting in a close race and Allocco's loss.

Howell Twp. Thankfully, Howell had no local seats up this year. Hopefully local Republicans used the pause to pull together for next year.
Of course, this year, we have Wall and Marlboro.

Keyport - Keyport Republicans went into a tailspin when Mayor John Merla and Councilman Bob Hyer were caught in Operation Bid Rig. They have reason to celebrate this year with the election of the Lincolnesque John Kovacs to the Borough Council. Kovacs is a respected former councilman and will send the message that the adults are back in the house.

Manalapan Twp. As reported last week, Mayor Andrew Lucas and Committeewoman Susan Cohen were reelected by comfortable margins.

Marlboro Twp. An absolute blow-out. Democratic sweep. Mayor Robert Kleinberg was considered one of the all-time political "saves" four years ago in the aftermath of the corruption arrests of former Mayor Matthew Scannapieco and former Councilman Thomas Broderick. This year, Kleinberg seemed to self - destruct, with one gaffe after another. To top it all off, a Republicans for Hornik movement erupted, supporting Kleinberg's Democratic opponent. I thought Manalapan was supposed to be the new Howell! Marlboro's problems likely caused the defeat of freeholder candidate Jeff Cantor. This bears further investigation and we are not finished with this one.

Matawan - Squeaker! Councilman Paul Buccellato is currently one vote behind Democratic Mayor Mary Aufseeser for the mayoralty. He is seeking a recount. Republican Linda Clifton was elected to the council. Once a G. O. P. bastion, Matawan has been Democratic the last few years.

Middletown Twp. Yet another split. Mayor Jerry Scharfenberger was reelected, but his running mate, Tristan Nelsen, fell short to Democrat Sean Byrnes. Hey Middletown G. O. P.: You're the biggest town in the county. Pull it together. We need big numbers from you. One more Dem gets elected and that's the ball game, guys.

Upper Freehold Twp. Reliably Republican, even in the face of a split. Lori Horsnall Mount and Stanley Moslowski Jr. were nominated in the Republican primary. Republican Mayor Stephen Fleischacker opted to go it as an independent, bypassing the primary process. Moslowski then ditched his running mate and teamed up with Fleischacker, leaving Horsnall Mount out in the cold, so to speak. Atfer all was said and done, however, it was Moslowski and Horsnall Mount who won.

Wall Twp. Howellesque. What else can we say? No Democrats filed for the two full - term committee seats. Jeffrey Foster and Clint Hoffman, two Republicans running as independents, defeated longtime G. O. P. committee members Robert Peters and Mary Burne. For the two year unexpired term of John Tobia, Republican Michael Clayton defeated Democrat Sherri West. The 2008 make up of the Wall Township Committee will be 2D - 1R - 2I. It remains to be seen whether the independents will work with Clayton or the Democrats. Wall is an important town and what goes on here can affect the county races.

This has been but a sampling of some notable local races in Monmouth County.


the inside airbather said...

Who won in Sandy hook?

msockol said...

Abe, I offered some observations about this column on my blog....

Happy Thanksgiving.